Following

Welcome

Be the first to shop our top brands, designer exclusives and curated finds.

Get the OKL Daily Brief

Be the first to shop our top brands, designer exclusives and curated finds.

Login with Facebook

By clicking “Continue”, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Login with Facebook By clicking “Go”, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Save what you love.

Sign up to save your favorite products and
access them anytime, anyplace.

Login with Facebook

By clicking “Continue”, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Login with Facebook By clicking “Go”, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Stay in the loop!

Be the first to know when more new items arrive at One Kings Lane.

Login with Facebook

By clicking “Continue”, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Login with Facebook By clicking “Go”, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Back

One more detail

And you can start shopping!

Back

Welcome Back

Before we proceed, you must verify your email address and create a password. Check your inbox and click-through to finish your registration.

Back

Forgot Your Password?

Please enter your email address below and we will send you an email to confirm your password.

Forgot Your Password?

Thank you. If a matching email exists we will send you an email in a few minutes with instructions on how to reset your password.

Don't forget to check your spam folder if you cannot find the email. For further assistance please contact us at customercare@onekingslane.com .

Okay
Click anywhere on the image to zoom. Click and drag the image to pan.
Zoom
This item has been added to your cart.

Jones Beach

Abrams

This item is no longer available.
Shop Today’s Events
Jones Beach

Shipping & Returns

Product Information

Imprint:
Abrams
ISBN:
9780810980167
Format:
hardcover
Size:
10" x 10"
Author(s):
Joseph Szabo
Page count:
112

Shipping & Returns

Why We Love This

Beginning in the early 1970s, Joseph Szabo started capturing the melting pot of humanity on Jones Beach, one of the busiest strips of sand and ocean in the world with more than six million visitors a year. Among the sea of bodies, Szabo's camera reveals moments of both quiet introspection and unashamed exuberance. Images of tanned muscle men, catwalk-like displays of beach wear, heavily oiled skin, masses of sprayed hair, and shy adolescents all reveal the dynamics of the beach so close to New York City. Class, race, and other potential divisions are temporarily forgotten, and the perfect and the flawed are portrayed with the same respect and tenderness. Szabo is an internationally acclaimed artist whose last two books (Teenage and Almost Grown) have influenced and been admired by a whole generation of photographers. Fans of Szabo, Jones Beach, and people interested in beach culture in general will treasure this funny, sexy, lovely volume created over 35 years.

Why We Love This

Beginning in the early 1970s, Joseph Szabo started capturing the melting pot of humanity on Jones Beach, one of the busiest strips of sand and ocean in the world with more than six million visitors a year. Among the sea of bodies, Szabo's camera reveals moments of both quiet introspection and unashamed exuberance. Images of tanned muscle men, catwalk-like displays of beach wear, heavily oiled skin, masses of sprayed hair, and shy adolescents all reveal the dynamics of the beach so close to New York City. Class, race, and other potential divisions are temporarily forgotten, and the perfect and the flawed are portrayed with the same respect and tenderness. Szabo is an internationally acclaimed artist whose last two books (Teenage and Almost Grown) have influenced and been admired by a whole generation of photographers. Fans of Szabo, Jones Beach, and people interested in beach culture in general will treasure this funny, sexy, lovely volume created over 35 years.